2010 State of Origin Game 2 Maroons & Blues Team Lists

The second game of Australia’s favourite Rugby League showdown, the 2010 Harvey Norman State of Origin, will light up Suncorp Stadium next Wednesday night as we discover whether Queensland will take out the series or if New South Wales can cause an upset and make game three something really worth tuning in for.

After a massive couple of weeks that were full of big announcements, shock decisions, set-backs, suspensions and injuries, both the Queensland and New South Wales selectors have named their squads for the second instalment of the State v State blockbuster.

Looking as confident as ever of entering the record books by winning their fifth straight Origin series, the Maroons line-up is nearly identical to the one that beat the Blues in the series opener 28 – 24.

With the great Petero Civoniceva injured, the Canberra Raider’s Dave Shillington will don the No. 10 Maroon jersey while the Bulldog’s Ben Hannant has been named on the bench. And even though he did a good job representing Queensland in game one, Matt Ballin has been dropped as hooker in favour of the returning Cameron Smith. A final change is Jharal Yow Yeh as the 18th man instead of Broncos teammate Ben Te’o.

All the other stars are back including the talented Israel Folau who looked in doubt of reselection after signing a deal with the AFL, but his ability could not be denied and selectors chose to reinstate him as Queensland’s No. 5.

There has been a major restructuring of the Blues outfit for game two, however, as the series’ underdogs look to regain some form and even the tally to one all. Major changes include the exclusion of Brett Kimmorley in favour of in-form halfback Mitchell Pearce, Kurt Gidley forced to captain from the bench as Jarryd Hayne moves to fullback, and the Sharks Trent Barrett joining the team as vice captain.

Other players missing from the Blues squad for game two include the injured Jamie Lyon and Anthony Watmough, Luke Lewis on suspension for a dangerous throw, and Jamal Idris who has missed out on a spot after players including Parramatta’s Nathan Hindmarsh and Origin debutant Beau Scott are named in the line-up.

For a full commentary and more details about the selection of the Origin squads for game two visit State of Origin Teams.

A third and final State of Origin showdown will take place at ANZ Stadium on July 7, and to get the latest news for games two and three including match previews, team updates and results head to State of Origin Betting.

Show your support and get behind your state this Origin series! The best way to back your team is by placing a wager on them, and the best place for all your Rugby League Betting is Ladbrokes.com.au! Currently Queensland are the $1.42 favourites to take out game two, while New South Wales are out to $2.85 with Ladbrokes.com.au.

2010 XXXX QLD Maroons Team – Game 2:

Jersey No.


NRL Team

1 Billy Slater Melbourne Storm
2 Darius Boyd St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Greg Inglis Melbourne Storm
4 Willie Tonga North Queensland Cowboys
5 Israel Folau Brisbane Broncos
6 Darren Lockyer (c) Brisbane Broncos
7 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
8 Matthew Scott North Queensland Cowboys
9 Cameron Smith Melbourne Storm
10 Dave Shillington Canberra Raiders
11 Nate Myles Sydney Roosters
12 Sam Thaiday Brisbane Broncos
13 Ashley Harrison Gold Coast Titans
14 Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm
15 Ben Hannant Canterbury Bulldogs
16 Neville Costigan St George Illawarra Dragons
17 Dave Taylor South Sydney Rabbitohs
18 Jharal Yow Yeh Brisbane Broncos

NSW Aussie Blues Team – Game 2:

Jersey No.


NRL Team

1 Jarryd Hayne Parramatta Eels
2 Brett Morris St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Matt Cooper St George Illawarra Dragons
4 Beau Scott St George Illawarra Dragons
5 Timana Tahu Parramatta Eels
6 Trent Barrett (vc) Cronulla Sharks
7 Mitchell Pearce Sydney Roosters
8 Michael Weyman St George Illawarra Dragons
9 Michael Ennis Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
10 Brett White Melbourne Storm
11 Trent Waterhouse Penrith Panthers
12 Ben Creagh St George Illawarra Dragons
13 Paul Gallen Cronulla Sharks
14 Kurt Gidley (c) Newcastle Knights
15 Nathan Hindmarsh Parramatta Eels
16 Tom Learoyd-Lahrs Canberra Raiders
17 Luke O’Donnell North Queensland Cowboys