NRL Round 14 – Match 4 Preview: Brisbane Broncos v Rabbitohs

Sunday afternoon’s second showdown is one of the most anticipated of the round as the depth of the Brisbane Broncos will be put to the test when they host the South Sydney Rabbitohs at Suncorp Stadium.

The Broncos have enjoyed a recent come-back, winning their past four matches to work their way up into the seventh spot on the ladder. They have beaten the Storm, Titans, Sharks and then the Sea Eagles in a big 22 – 6 upset last weekend.

But this will be a tough game for Brisbane, who are without so many of the players that have made all the difference in the last month. The Broncos lose skipper Darren Lockyer, the flying Israel Folau, and big Sam Thaiday who have all been called up to represent Queensland in Origin II.

And the team they face are in red-hot form, South Sydney now number three in the competition following two massive victories first against the Panthers and then their huge 32 – 4 thrashing of the Cowboys last week.

The impact Origin has on the Bunnies is much softer too, with Dave Taylor the only player away on Origin duties. However, Souths are also missing Sam Burgess and Scott Geddes and have had another blow with the suspension of their hooker Isaac Luke.

This is another really tricky game to pick, but it should be a beauty to watch. Even without their stars the Broncos are still the favourites currently at $1.67 for a win with, the bookies confident that Peter Wallace, Ben Te’o and replacement captain Corey Parker can keep the momentum going for Brisbane.

The Rabbitohs aren’t that far behind in the odds, however, sitting at $2.20 for a win through at the moment.

We are sticking with the Broncos again, hopeful that their confidence at Suncorp Stadium will give them five straight but they will have to work hard against the likes of Sutton, Sandow and Wesser all in great form.

Current Head-to-Head Odds: Broncos $1.67 – Rabbitohs $2.20

Round 14 Broncos Team:

1. Josh Hoffman 2. Antonio Winterstein 3. Alex Glenn 4. Matt Gillett 5. Jharal Yow Yeh 6. Corey Norman 7. Peter Wallace 8. Shane Tronc 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Lagi Setu 11. Ben Te’o 12. Ashton Sims 13. Corey Parker (c)

Bench: 14. Ben Hunt 15. Mitchell Dodds 16. Scott Anderson 17. Nick Kenny

Round 14 Rabbitohs Team:

1. Rhys Wesser 2. Nathan Merritt 3. Colin Best 4. Beau Champion 5. Fetuli Talanoa 6. John Sutton 7. Chris Sandow 8. Luke Stuart 9. Issac Luke 10. Roy Asotasi 11. Eddy Pettybourne 12. Jason Clark 13. Ben Lowe

Bench: 14. Garret Crossman 15. Dave Tyrrell 16. Jamie Simpson 17. Luke Capewell