NRL Round 16 – Match 7 Preview: Sydney Roosters v New Zealand Warriros

Sunday footy continues this week with a tightly matched showdown between the Roosters and the Warriors at AMI Stadium in Christchurch.

Sydney are still looking good for the finals at this stage sitting sixth on the ladder despite a shaky and unpredictable season full of massive highs and devastating lows. The Chooks are fresh off a bye, before which they enjoyed one of their best wins of the season when they beat the Storm 38 – 6.

The Warriors have had just one less win than the Roosters this season and are currently 10th on the ladder, still a top eight chance, but they need to start stringing some wins together. New Zealand also enjoyed a bye last week and won their Round 14 game beating the Knights 32 – 24.

Another really tough game to pick as their recent form and both coming off a bye make these two evenly matched. have the Roosters as the $1.83 favourites, but the Warriors really aren’t far behind currently paying $1.98 for a win.

With the Warriors travelling poorly this season, we like the Roosters for this one. Sydney to get back-to-back wins for the first time since the opening two rounds. Also, with Todd Carney moving into five-eighth he should be comfortable and Minichiello will shine as fullback adding to their success.

New Zealand have won the last three between these two, but now is the time for the Roosters to fight back. And, as both teams fancy scoring off the boot expect a high scoring affair so why not check out the 12+ Margin betting odds at for this one!

Current Head-to-Head Odds:

Roosters $1.83 – Warriors $1.98

Round 16 Roosters Team:

1. Anthony Minichiello 2. Phil Graham 3. Kane Linnett 4. Shaun Kenny-Dowall 5. Sam Perrett 6. Todd Carney 7. Mitchell Pearce 8. Jason Ryles 9. Jake Friend 10. Nate Myles 11. Frank-Paul Nuuausala 12. Mitchell Aubusson 13. Braith Anasta (c)

Bench: 14. Nick Kouparitsas 15. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves 16. Mose Masoe 17. BJ Leilua

Round 16 Warriors Team:

1. Lance Hohaia 2. Kevin Locke 3. Joel Moon 4. Jerome Ropati 5. Manu Vatuvei 6. James Maloney 7. Isaac John 8. Jeremy Latimore 9. Aaron Heremaia 10. Russell Packer 11. Simon Mannering 12. Lewis Brown 13. Michael Luck

Bench: 14. Ian Henderson 15. Ben Matulino 16. Jesse Royal 17. Ukuma Ta’ai

Reserve: 18. Sione Lousi