2010 State of Origin Game 3 Maroons & Blues Team Lists

This year’s 2010 Harvey Norman State of Origin has been decided, with the Maroons securing their record fifth straight series. But there is still a third and final showdown to take place, when the Blues aim to earn back some respect by stopping a Queensland whitewash in Origin III on July 7 at ANZ Stadium.

Having dominated the State v State competition in recent years, and after a powerful series-winning performance at Suncorp Stadium thrashing the Blues 34 – 6 last month, Queensland have stuck to a nearly identical team for the final instalment. Eager to win all three Origin battles for the first time since 1995, the Maroons will head down to Sydney for Wednesday week’s showdown full of confidence and steam.

The only major change to the Queensland squad from Origin II is the exclusion of the Bulldogs’ Ben Hannant to make way for the returning Petero Civoniceva. The powerhouse prop reunites with his No. 10 Maroon jersey after missing the second game following a broken hand he sustained in the series’ opener.

The Blues, however, are eager to begin a new era in Origin and have again made some instrumental alterations to their line-up with the hope of reenergising their side.

The biggest change is the demotion of Kurt Gidley, named on the bench and stripped of his captaincy in favour of the Sharks Trent Barrett. Barrett will play as five-eighth and has the honour of captaining the Blues squad in what is likely to be his final Origin game.

Injured centre Matt Cooper has been replaced by Panthers’ star Michael Jennings, while fellow Penrith player Michael Gordon will play on the left wing in his Origin debut taking over from the dumped Joel Monaghan.

New South Wales have also lost Dragons powerhouse Michael Weyman, on suspension for an ugly spear tackle. Weyman’s replacement is another debutant, Manly’s Jason King.

In a fresh new approach, two more rookies will play in their first Origin game on Wednesday, with Tim Mannah bumping teammate Nathan Hindmrash off the bench, and Kade Snowden replacing Brett White.

The Blues side also now boasts a dangerous backrow combination, with the Gold Coast’s Greg Bird playing alongside Luke Lewis, returning from suspension, and Bird’s fellow ‘bash brother’ Paul Gallen.

For a comprehensive look and complete commentary on the Origin III squad selections head to State of Origin Teams.

And, Rugby League fans can stay up to date with the latest Origin news, previews and betting specials at State of Origin Betting.

Now more than ever it is important to show your allegiance to your state by betting on your favourites! We have found Ladbrokes.com.au to supply the best State of Origin betting odds and specials, so sign up with them today to make some money! Currently Queensland are the pronounced favourites paying $1.50 for a win, while New South Wales will head onto the field as the underdogs, currently at $2.60 odds.

2010 XXXX QLD Maroons Team – Game 3:

Jersey No.


NRL Team

1 Billy Slater Melbourne Storm
2 Darius Boyd St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Greg Inglis Melbourne Storm
4 Willie Tonga North Queensland Cowboys
5 Israel Folau Brisbane Broncos
6 Darren Lockyer (c) Brisbane Broncos
7 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys
8 Matthew Scott North Queensland Cowboys
9 Cameron Smith Melbourne Storm
10 Petero Civoniceva Penrith Panthers
11 Nate Myles Sydney Roosters
12 Sam Thaiday Brisbane Broncos
13 Ashley Harrison Gold Coast Titans
14 Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm
15 David Shillington Canberra Raiders
16 Neville Costigan St George Illawarra Dragons
17 David Taylor South Sydney Rabbitohs
18 Ben Lowe South Sydney Rabbitohs

NSW Aussie Blues Team – Game 2:

Jersey No.


NRL Team

1 Jarryd Hayne Parramatta Eels
2 Brett Morris St George Illawarra Dragons
3 Michael Jennings Penrith Panthers
4 Beau Scott St George Illawarra Dragons
5 Michael Gordon Penrith Panthers
6 Trent Barrett (c) Cronulla Sharks
7 Mitchell Pearce Sydney Roosters
8 Jason King Manly Sea Eagles
9 Michael Ennis Canterbury Bulldogs
10 Kade Snowden Cronulla Sharks
11 Luke Lewis Penrith Panthers
12 Paul Gallen Cronulla Sharks
13 Greg Bird Gold Coast Titans
14 Kurt Gidley Newcastle Knights
15 Tom Learoyd-Lahrs Canberra Raiders
16 Tim Mannah Parramatta Eels
17 Anthony Watmough Manly Sea Eagles