Todd Carney Wins 2010 Dally M Medal

Sydney Roosters five-eighth Todd Carney was awarded with the prestigious Dally M Medal for the 2010 NRL Telstra Premiership’s best and fairest player at a ceremony in Sydney last night, the former bad boy sealing his Rugby League resurrection.

Carney, who has made a sensational return to Rugby League this year after being sacked by the Canberra Raiders in 2008, won the Dally M by just one vote ahead of Wests Tigers captain Robbie Farah.

In a thrilling season that went down to the wire, the final votes for the Dally M were Carney with 27 and Farah with 26, far different from the count back in Round 16 that had Carney on 11 trailing Dragons fullback Darius Boyd (16). punters that bet on the Top Try-Scorer and Dally M Winner for 2010 were also rewarded last night

Boyd still picked up an award last night, winning Fullback of the Year while Robbie Farah was honoured with the award for Hooker of the Year.

The 31st Dally M winner was presented his award aptly by another former Roosters five-eight Robert ‘Rocky’ Laurie, who won the inaugural Dally M Medal back in 1980 when playing for South Sydney.

It was an emotional night for Carney who had spent the 2009 season working his way back into the league up in North Queensland and the star was especially grateful to Roosters coach Brian Smith who gave Carney his second shot in the NRL.

“I owe a lot of this medal to him (Smith),” said a beaming Carney.

Smith was further congratulated by Carney and the rest of the Roosters after winning Coach of the Year while Sydney skipper Braith Anasta received the prize of Captain of the Year capping off a top night for the Tricolours.

The Chooks also owe much of their success to Carney this season, who has helped bring them back from a Wooden Spoon finish last year to rise to sixth on the NRL ladder this year and earn a spot in the finals.

Carney cleaned up at the awards not only taking out the competition’s highest individual honour but also winning Five-eight of the Year and was voted as the Provan-Summons People’s Choice player of the season with over 15,000 fans voting him the most popular player of 2010.

Other 2010 Dally M Award winners from last night included Scott Prince from the Gold Coast Titans as Halfback of the Year and Knights Akuila Uate as Winger of the Year and also Top Try-Scorer.

Punters also enjoyed the night as the bets placed on exotic markets such as Top Try-Scorer and Top Point-Scorer were paid out, and punters were the big winners as they received the highest returns from their wagers.

Carney and the Roosters will play the Wests Tigers on Saturday night in a supercharged SFS semi so make sure you get behind your favourites and have a punt on the game!

But don’t waste your wagers away at the TAB, lock in better odds by signing up with leading online bookie today.

2010 Dally M Award Winners

Award Player NRL Club
Fullback of the Year Darius Boyd St George Illawarra Dragons
Winger of the Year Akuila Uate Newcastle Knights
Centre of the Year Jamie Lyon Manly Sea Eagles
Five-Eighth of the Year Todd Carney Sydney Roosters
Halfback of the Year Scott Prince Gold Coast Titans
Lock of the Year Luke Lewis Penrith Panthers
Second Rower of the Year Sam Thaiday Brisbane Broncos
Prop of the Year David Shillington Canberra Raiders
Hooker of the Year Robbie Farah Wests Tigers
Captain of the Year Braith Anasta Sydney Roosters
Coach of the Year Brian Smith Sydney Roosters
Rep Player of the Year Billy Slater Melbourne Storm
Rookie of the Year Matt Gillett Brisbane Broncos
Top Point-Scorer Michael Gordon Penrith Panthers
Top Try-Scorer Akuila Uate Newcastle Knights
Toyota Cup Player of the Year Taiq Sims Brisbane Broncos
Provan-Summons People’s Choice Todd Carney Sydney Roosters
Peter Frillingos Memorial Headline Moment Award Jarryd Hayne Parramatta Eeels