NRL Grand Final 2011 Score – Manly 24 v 10 New Zealand

Another crack NRL season is officially over after the 2011 NRL Grand Final played out at ANZ Stadium on Sunday afternoon in front of a bumper crowd of 81,988 supporters, the mighty Manly Sea Eagles crowned the premiership winners after a hard-fought victory over the New Zealand Warriors.

The official NRL Grand Final 2011 Score was Sea Eagles 24 v Warriors 10

Manly had been favourites in the NRL betting markets to win the Grand Final at Luxbet for a number of weeks and didn’t disappoint the favourite backers on the weekend.

Sea Eagles fans were treated to a brilliant 2011 NRL Telstra Premiership season, their team one of the most consistent in the competition which earned them a spot in the Grand Final decider along with a similarly determined New Zealand outfit.

Fighting off a fast-finishing Warriors, who threatened to bring down the Maroon and Whites in the final quarter, Manly held on and their strong defence and brave attitude saw them secure their eighth premiership title, their second in just four years after their 2008 NRL Grand Final victory.

In the four-tries-to-two victory the Manly Grand Final try-scorers’ were Brett Stewart, Rookie of the Year Daly Cherry-Evans, the other Stewart brother Glenn and captain Jamie Lyon.

Scoring 10 of the Sea Eagle’s 24 winning points, Lyon also converted three from three while the final conversion was completed by the departing Michael Robertson who is off to play in the English Super League.

New Zealand’s grand final points kicked off with a James Maloney goal, which were the first points of the night, followed by tries from the always entertaining Manu Vatuvei and Elijah Taylor.

Warriors looked dangerous throughout the opening half and were trailing just 6 – 2 before Cherry-Evans’ extended Manly’s half-time lead to 12 – 2 with his 40th minute try.

They were further put on the backburner after returning from the sheds when Will Hopoate flicked a sneaky pass off to Glenn Stewart to score.

New Zealand didn’t give up, however, and Vatuvie scored their first four-pointer of the night in the 62nd minute.

Just six minutes later Taylor posted their second, but they were still behind by two tries as Maloney missed both conversion attempts.

The thousands of Kiwi fans in the crowd sat on the edge of their seats hoping for a miracle, but the only miracle delivered was to Manly who finished the scoring with Lyon getting their final of the night and the season in the 79th minute to put the NRL Grand Final result beyond doubt.

2011 NRL Grand Final Results & Stats

  • Score: Manly Sea Eagles 24 v 10 New Zealand Warriors
  • Possession: Manly 55% v 45% New Zealand
  • Completions: Manly 32/40 v 24/38 New Zealand
  • Metres Gained: Manly 1336 v 1340 New Zealand
  • Tackles: Manly 295 v 388 New Zealand

2011 NRL Grand Final Betting Info

  • Manly were the Luxbet favourites and won for the punters
  • First Points were a New Zealand Goal, which paid juicy dividends at Luxbet
  • First Tryscorer was Brett Stewart, who was one of the $8 favourites to post the first four-pointer at Luxbet

While the NRL Season is over for 2011, there are still plenty of great Rugby League betting opportunities for fans and punters to see out the year with the Tri Nations Test Matches fast approaching.

You can also already bet on the State of Origin 2012 Series at Luxbet, a Darren Lockyer-less Queensland the narrow $1.85 favourites over New South Wales at $1.95.

Head to Luxbet now and open a new account with Australia’s favourite bookie to get in on the action.

Even better, bet on a horse race or sporting event of your choice for free with Luxbet’s $500 bonus bet offer open to first-time, depositing customers that quote the code BONUSBET.

But hurry, this is only available until the end of the 2011 Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival!