State of Origin 2012 Team Lists – Game 1

The start of the biggest and the best rugby league showdown of the year is only a couple of weeks away with the iconic 2012 State of Origin series to kick off on May 23, and here we take a quick look at the State of Origin team lists for both the mighty Queensland Maroons and the New South Wales Blues.

Queensland has enjoyed a stranglehold over the State of Origin arena winning an incredible six straight series.

They have a combination of class, skill, experience and legendary status that makes them all but unbeatable on paper and as it has been proven on the field as well.

So what are the Blues doing wrong? No one, least of all their coach Ricky Stewart really knows.

While it would seem that State of Origin Game 1 will play out on neutral territory taking place at Ethiad Stadium in Melbourne, one could argue this plays into the Maroon’s hands.

Two Melbourne Storm superstars are among the Maroons squad with champion fullback Billy Slater and Cam Smith who takes over as skipper for the retired great Darren Lockyer.

It is easy to see why Queensland are the shorties in the State of Origin odds at paying around $1.40 to win.

Among the most experienced in a squad that boasts an incredible 147 winning State Of Origin matches in total are the warhorse Petero Civoniceva who will say goodbye to the game at the end of the season, Cowboys five eighty Johnathan Thurston, and fellow North Queenslander Matthew Scott to name a few.

But there are some rookie’s as well with two young players named to make their Origin debut in an extended 19-man team with the Broncos’ Matt Gillett on the bench and Manly’s star rookie Daley Cherry-Evans.

In an attempt to spice things up and inject something fresh into the New South Wales Origin team this year selectors have named four debutants.

Most notable of the quartet is the Sharks standout player Todd Carney who is doing everything right on and off the field this year making him deserving of his fifth eighth Blues’ jersey.

He should bring something good to the table too as he reunites with halfback Mitchell Pearce who he used to work some magic with on the green when playing for the Roosters.

The other New South Welshmen to make their debuts in State Of Origin Game 1 are then Cowboys’ James Tamou who will be looking to match his club teammates including his Cowboys captain Thurston on the opposite side for a change, flyer Jamie Buhrer and Tony Williams.

With so many Origin series losses the Blues are the underdogs going into game one paying around $2.70 through

So is there anything missing from the Queensland State of Origin Team?

Locky for one but Smith should captain them alright.

Cloud of injury over Justin Hodges, the centre suffering a foot injury that saw him miss Brisbane’s NRL Round 10 loss to Manly.

He says he’ll be right by Dane Nielsen has been named as the 19th man just in case.

Hodges is one of four Brisbanites in the squad along with Nielsen, Sam Thaiday and Ben Hannant.

Along with the retired Locky the other notable absentee is Corey Parker who was snubbed by Origin selectors after his poor night on the boot against the Sea Eagles last week.

Check out the complete State of Origin 2012 team lists in the tables below.

Ready to get your State of Origin betting hat on and support your state in the ultimate game?

Visit our favourite bookie now and access all the hottest State Of Origin match and series odds as well as a $300 Bonus Bet when you open a new account and quote the code BONUSBET!

2012 Queensland Maroons State of Origin Game 1 Team

Player Position Debut Wins
Billy Slater FB 2004 11
Darius Boyd W1 2008 9
Greg Inglis CTR1 2006 10
Justin Hodges CTR2 2002 6
Brent Tate W2 2002 7
Johnathan Thurston 5/8 2005 14
Cooper Cronk HB 2010 5
Matthew Scott FRF 2006 5
Cameron Smith S HOK 2003 15
Petero Civoniceva FRF 2001 17
Nate Myles 2RF 2006 13
Sam Thaiday 2RF 2006 11
Ashley Harrison LCK 2005 9
Matt Gillett INT 0
David Taylor INT 2010 3
Ben Hannant INT 2008 7
David Shillington INT 2009 3
Daly Cherry-Evans INT 0
Dane Nielsen INT 2011 2

2012 New South Wales Blues State of Origin Game 1 Team

Player Position Debut Wins
Brett Stewart FB 2007 2
Jarryd Hayne W1 2007 4
Michael Jennings See Player Bio CTR1 2009 1
Josh Morris CTR2 2009 1
Akuila Uate W2 2011 1
Todd Carney 5/8 0
Mitchell Pearce HB 2008 1
Paul Gallen FRF 2006 3
Robbie Farah HOK 2009 0
James Tamou FRF 0
Glenn Stewart 2RF 2009 1
Luke Lewis 2RF 2004 3
Greg Bird LCK 2007 3
Trent Merrin INT 2011 1
Jamie Buhrer INT 0
Ben Creagh INT 2009 2
Tony Williams INT 0