2017 State Of Origin Betting: Game 1 Preview

The world’s toughest Rugby League tournament kicks off on Wednesday night, May 31, with State Of Origin Game 1 pitting the Maroons and Blues against each other in the best-of-three series.

The State of Origin series opener is scheduled for Suncorp Stadium giving the Queenslanders the early home venue advantage kicking off their 2017 Origin campaign in Brisbane winning game one for the third year on the trot.

2017 State Of Origin Game 1

  • Date: Wednesday May 31, 2017
  • Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
  • Kick-off: 8:20pm (AEST)
  • Odds: Queensland ($2) v New South Wales ($1.88)

The Maroons have lost the series just once since 2006, but have enjoyed just the one 3 – nil whitewash in that time (2010).

The Kevin Walters-coached Queensland squad are underdogs in the Game 1 State of Origin odds at Ladbrokes.com.au paying $2 to get the job done after a number of controversial team calls.

New South Wales are at $1.88 to answer the hostile crowd with success over the Canetoads and Blake Ferguson is the best fancied of the Blues players to score the First Try.

State Of Origin Game 1: First Tryscorer

  • Corey Oates (QLD) – $10
  • Blake Ferguson (NSW) – $11
  • Dane Gagai (QLD) – $11
  • Brett Morris (NSW) – $12
  • Darius Boyd (QLD) – $13
  • James Tedesco (NSW) – $13

Queensland is tipped to score the first four-pointer of the State of Origin 2017 series in the form of Oates, despite the Broncos’ winger being far from his best in the past few weeks.

Could that open things up for the Blues to be first on the board in the form of one-half of the Morris twins – Brett Morris at a generous $12.

State Of Origin First Tryscorer Tip: Brett Morris @ $12 – Ladbrokes.com.au

In a controversial Queensland State of Origin team omission, Walter opted not to call up No. 1 Billy Slater with Broncos player Darius Boyd filling the fullback position on Wednesday night.

Boyd is joined by five fellow Brisbane players: Corey Oates, Anthony Milford, Matt Gillett, Josh McGuire and big Sam Thaiday on the bench.

Also missing from the Queensland side due to injury are Matt Scott, Greg Inglis and most notably Cowboys skipper Johnathan Thurston replaced as five-eighth by Origin debutant Milford.

Before the official call on Thurston Queensland were favourite in State of Origin Game 1 betting, but they’ve eased out notably and could also struggle in their forward pack without the retired Corey Parker.

There’s been plenty of talk again around the New South Wales team selections from Laurie Daley including the choice to include Mitchell Pearce who has won just four of his 15 previous State Of Origin games played.

All but one of the past 13 years of State Of Origin has game one been won by more than nine points, so with this one pretty tough to call, try backing Either Team 1 – 12 Points @ $1.33 through Ladbrokes.com.au.

There’s also money to be made in the State Of Origin Game 1 Man Of The Match markets.

Cameron Smith is $7 favourite followed by his teammates Cooper Cronk ($8) and Darius Boyd ($10).

If the Blues step-up, Mitchell Pearce is their $8 favourite but James Tedesco ($9) shapes-up as the value there.

Check out the full State Of Origin 2017 Game 1 Betting Odds online now at Ladbrokes.com.au before kicking back to enjoy another likely thriller on Wednesday night!

State Of Origin Game 1 Teams 2017

Queensland Maroons

Darius Boyd (Brisbane Broncos)

Corey Oates (Brisbane Broncos)

Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)

Justin O’Neill (North Queensland Cowboys)

Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)

Anthony Milford (Brisbane Broncos)

Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

Nate Myles (Manly Sea Eagles)

Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Dylan Napa (Sydney Roosters)

Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)

Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

Josh McGuire (Brisbane Broncos)


Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)

Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

Aidan Guerra (Sydney Roosters)

Jacob Lillyman (New Zealand Warriors)

New South Wales Blues

James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)

Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Jarryd Hayne (Gold Coast Titans)

Brett Morris (Canterbury Bulldogs)

James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks)

Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)

Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Nathan Peats (Gold Coast Titans)

Paul Gallen (Andrew Fifita)

Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)

Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)


David Klemmer (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Wade Graham (Cronulla Sharks)

Jake Trbojevic (Manly Sea Eagles)

Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks)

*All State of Origin odds provided by Ladbrokes.com.au and subject to change