NRL Grand Final

Grand Final 2006

The 2006 NRL Grand Final won by the Brisbane Broncos over the Melbourne Storm, 15-8; an NRL milestone in history

Grab your Rugby League scarfs, jerseys, beanies and flags… it’s NRL Grand Final time! On the first Sunday of October every year the pinnacle event on the Rugby League calendar plays out in a sensational showdown between the two best teams in the NRL Telstra Premiership.

The NRL Grand Final always draws a capacity crowd brimful of eager Rugby League enthusiasts, punters and supporters ready to cheer for their favourite NRL team who will hopefully be named the season’s premiers.

After an intense 26 round season and then the sudden-death NRL finals, the two teams who have emerged as the leading clubs in the competition fight it out in the best 80 minutes of footy fans will be treated to all year. Not only is the NRL Grand Final the most exciting and passionate game of the season, it is also the favourite time of year for those who like to get their footy bet on!

Betting on the NRL Grand Final

The NRL Grand Final is one of the most highly bet on sporting events in Australia, generates an enormous amount of wagering dollars and pays out some massive returns to dedicated punters! You can get in on the betting action of the NRL Grand Final too at a number of leading online bookmakers including

Nothing shouts ‘I love my NRL team’ more than backing them at the bookies to win! But fans don’t have to wait until the end of the season to make their grand final bets, bookmakers open the betting markets for the Premiership Winners even before the start of the season.

These futures or ante-post bets offer really lucrative odds and come finals time, if you have gotten in early and backed your favourites to win, you could receive a very generous payout that will have you shouting all the drinks at the NRL Grand Final!

There are a great range of NRL Grand Final betting options available. The two most popular bet types are on the Premiership Winners and the Quinella that pays on the two teams that will play-off in the NRL Grand Final.

And don’t forget those exotic Rugby League bets that give you little milestones to make money off throughout the NRL Grand Final clash, like First Tryscorer, Half-Time Margin and Exact Winning Margin.

Throughout the history of the NRL, there have been some amazing Grand Final upsets that have nearly sent the bookies broke as footy fans have cleaned up on their bets. TAB Sportsbet payed out over $10 million on the 2009 NRL Grand Final, so make sure this year you get in to win a share of the millions on offer!

Check out the rest of the NRL Grand Final odds and options at today!

2009 NRL Grand Final

The 2009 Grand Final was played on October 4, 2009 at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium between the Melbourne Storm and the Parramatta Eels. It was the Storm’s fourth consecutive Grand Final appearance and they went on to win 23 – 16.

Melbourne dominated the match with two first half tries giving them a 10 – nil lead at the break. The Eels fought back hard in the second half scoring early on, but the Storm soon regained their dominance with tries from Greg Inglis and Billy Slater ballooning their lead. Even though Parramatta managed two more tries, it wasn’t enough and a last minute field goal from Inglis sealed the Storm’s win.

In 2010 the Melbourne Storm were stripped of this premiership win after evidence of their salary cap breaches was discovered.

2008 NRL Grand Final

The 2008 NRL Grand Final was the first premiership decider played at night and took place on October 5, 2008 at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium. It was a terrific rematch of the 2007 final, again featuring the Melbourne Storm and the Manly Sea Eagles.

This time Manly got the better of the Storm, thrashing them 40 – 0 in a record breaking game. The score was the highest winning margin and the first time since 1978 that a Rugby League team was kept scoreless in a Grand Final.

2007 NRL Grand Final

The 2007 NRL Grand Final was a great showdown between the second placed Manly Sea Eagles and the minor premiers, the Melbourne Storm. It was held at Telstra Stadium on September 30 and was the most watched television programme in Australia for the year.

The Melbourne Storm won 34 – 8, but were later stripped of this premiership win in 2010 after ongoing salary cap breaches.

Two tries each to Anthony Quinn and Greg Inglis helped seal Melbourne’s victory, with Manly’s confidence shaken after their fullback was knocked unconscious after a big hit from two Storm players.

Past NRL Grand Final Winners & Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Score Wooden Spoon
2009 Melbourne Storm * Parramatta Eels 23 – 16 Sydney Roosters
2008 Manly Sea Eagles Melbourne Storm 40-0 Canterbury Bulldogs
2007 Melbourne Storm * Manly Sea Eagles 34-8 Penrith Panthers
2006 Brisbane Broncos Melbourne Storm 15-8 South Sydney Rabbitohs
2005 Wests Tigers North QLD Cowboys 30-16 Newcastle Knights
2004 Canterbury Bulldogs Sydney Roosters 16-13 South Sydney Rabbitohs
2003 Penrith Panthers Sydney Roosters 18-6 South Sydney Rabbitohs
2002 Sydney roosters New Zealand Warriors 30-8 Canterbury Bulldogs
2001 Newcastle Knights Parramatta Eels 30-24 Penrith Panthers
2000 Brisbane Broncos Sydney Roosters 14-6 North QLD Cowboys
1999 Melbourne Storm St George Illawarra Dragons 20-18 Wests Tigers
1998 Brisbane Broncos Canterbury Bulldogs 38-12 Wests Tigers

* After the Melbourne Storm were exposed to have continually breached the NRL salary cap, the club was stripped of their 2007 and 2009 NRL Grand Final Premiership wins.