NRL History

NRL History

NRL history in the making

The NRL (National Rugby League) is the premier Rugby League competition in Australia. Comprising sixteen teams, the NRL consists of world-class players and action. Out of the sixteen teams in the NRL league, fifteen are based in Australia and one is based in New Zealand.

NRL matches are played in Australia and New Zealand, from autumn to spring. The Grand Finals are the most prominent Rugby League event in Australia and are watched by millions of enthusiastic league lovers. The Rugby League players are the most famous of all sporting personalities in Australia.

The NRL league teams currently contesting the premiership are: Canterbury Bulldogs; Brisbane Broncos; Canberra Raiders; Gold Coast Titans; Melbourne Storm; Newcastle Knights; Parramatta Eels; St. George Illawarra Dragons; Sydney Roosters; South Sydney Rabbitohs; West Tigers; North Queensland Cowboys; New Zealand Warriors; Manly Warringah Sea Eagles; Penrith Panthers; and, the Cronulla Sharks.

You can earn some smart money betting online on your favourite NRL team whilst enjoying the thrill of the game. The online betting exchanges let you wager odds on all NRL matches.

The top eight teams progress to play-offs after twenty-six weeks of fixtures. The play-offs include quarter finals, semi finals and grand finals. The grand finals usually start in the first Sunday of October. After analysing the potential of each team online, you can bet on every game.


The 1998 NRL league season was the 91st season of professional rugby league football played in Australia. Twenty teams contested the 1998 season and the Grand Final was captured by the Brisbane Broncos. The 1999 NRL season premiership was claimed by Melbourne Storm, who defeated the St. George Illawara Dragons.

The Brisbane Broncos won their fifth premiership in the 2000 NRL season and they defeated the Sydney Roosters in the Grand Finals. The West Tigers and the Northern Eagles were new teams that emerged in the NRL in the 2000 season. In 2001, the Newcastle Knights took out the finals. It was a significant season for the Parramatta Eels, as well, who played aggressively to reach the Grand finals. They recorded 943 points in total for that year, which were the highest points scored in a season by any club.

The 2002 National Rugby season was won by the Sydney roosters. The New Zealand Warriors won their first minor premiership in this season and they made it to their first Grand Final. The NRL 2003 season was regarded as the most successful event in the history of the National Rugby League, and the Penrith Panthers defeated the Sydney Roosters in the Grand Finals in that same season.

The 2004 NRL league season was an aggressive competition between fifteen clubs, whilst the Bulldogs won their eighth premiership title by defeating the Roosters. The West Tigers won their first premiership title in the 2005 NRL Grand Finals by beating the North Queensland Cowboys.

The 2006 NRL season was the most important in the history of Rugby League. In the Grand Final, the premiership was taken by the Brisbane Broncos who defeated the Melbourne Storm. This match up was a critical milestone in the NRL history, as two interstate teams took part in the Grand Finals for the first time. The tenth season of the NRL was held in Queensland. The 2007 Final was won by the Melbourne Storm. The 2007 NRL Grand Final achieved the impressive honour of being watched by millions of fans on television.

The 2008 season marked the centenary year for Rugby League in Australia. The Grand Final was played between Manly Warringah Sea Eagles and the Melbourne Storm. The Sea Eagles won the premiership title, setting the record for the highest winning margin in a Grand Final match.

One tip when placing a wager on the NRL is to try and source as much information about past events as possible. You can make use of the online resources that provide plenty of details about the teams, players and the matches. The experts in the online betting exchanges can assist you in determining which team might move to the Grand Finals. You can also view the NRL ladder online – an effective tool to determine the most powerful team.

You can select from any of the betting options available online. When you decide to bet on the NRL, you can choose from options, such as: margin and head-to-head betting. You can place a NRL sports bet on Manly Warringah Sea Eagles to beat the South Sydney Rabbitohs. You can also opt for exotic bet options like a first half handicap; first and last scoring plays; game totals; time of first try; and, even try scoring match ups.

NRL live betting is another excellent option available when you wager online. You can look for the live betting menu on the Internet. The NRL future odds are perfect for any punter wishing to make a bet. You can also view the NRL league results section to find out about the results of each round played throughout the competition.

NRL league matches offer great excitement and thrill to fans and punters alike. It is easy to tap into the resources that provide you with all the latest news, statistics, results, and advice and tips. You never have to place an ill-informed bet when you wager online. All this information and the ability to bet online are right at your fingertips. It is one of the most straightforward betting experiences you will encounter. You can bet online on the NRL today.